The music never stopped

I wasn’t kidding when I said this was so much fun. I wasn’t going to post today but my head said “No…Claire…write….” and I gave in. Damn peer pressure.

So, remember that time when I said that I liked concerts? Last night my best friend and I went to see Panic! At The Disco at the Canal Club. We were super obsessed in middle school and she, being a cool girl, stayed into in and I fell out in high school. But it was an awesome concert, we stood in front, next to the speakers. I stole the set list (Claire! No! Oh shush, hypothetical person, nobody cared) and Maria, my friend, stole a sweat towel. Life was good.

I’ve been to four concerts this year, and hopefully more in the fall. A lot of good bands are coming to The National near VCU and I’m hype to go with my new friends. c: My first real concert was there, back in freshman year when I got tickets to Colbie Caillat for my birthday. I really like the intimacy of the small venue and the vibes of the place. It’s like taking a Richmond time machine.

My favorite part about concerts is the feeling you have after the encore and everyone leaves.  Your body is energized with music and you feel as if that was the best thing that will ever happen in your life (Well maybe just me). As you replay the music on your iPod/anything else, you can only picture the performance you just saw. All the vibes are overtaking your body and the only thing you want to do is watch the concert again.

My first shows, however, were actually my daddy’s. He played in his self-named band, the Gary Gerloff Band for years all over Richmond. Some of my earliest memories are at his shows, dancing around at Charley’s  in Stony Point as he and his band played.

Daddy didn’t have a real job, at least not when I was born, and I admire him for that. He basically raised me for the first couple years of my life until I was old enough for school. I loved having a stay at home dad, and he loved spending time with me. I mean, that meant he spent nights and weekends at festivals and restaurants, but he did what he loved. And that really inspires me to follow my heart when it comes to choosing a life career.  He never complained about going to work, was able to practice his music at home with his kids, and could use his gift to help with charity.  My hippie daddy, the look alike of Jerry Garcia,  influenced my life so much, I don’t even want to think of what I would be like without him. I miss that man every day, but I keep going on.

To quote the Dead, “The music never stopped”.  You know it’s true. When you lose someone, their vibes keep living on in you (like what my other man Walt Whitman said, “This is my music, this is myself”). Music is another purge of emotions, it’s an art that creates so much energy.

Either I just really insightful or I was making stuff up again

One thought on “The music never stopped

Facebook likes are fun, but blog comments are better

