The HIPAA in the Room

Get it? Not an elephant nor hippo, a HIPAA. 

HIPAA stands for Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act. This pretty much means that we, the pharmacy, are going to protect you at all costs. We won’t let the whole store know what meds are getting filled, will properly dispose of old bottles so no one can get your information, etc. The pharmacy required all employees to take an online course and test about HIPAA, and I only wished that they had done this sooner. (I hadn’t even heard of HIPAA until my second week on my job). 

I really care about my customers, I even have my favorites and that brings me to the hippo in the room: Obamacare. As we all probably know, ACA (Affordable Healthcare Act, Obamacare’s real name) is coming out soon. (Thanks VCU for the info in the Stall Street Journal in all the bathrooms-we all need to be informed!) Universal healthcare is going to be a good thing, so many people need help. I feel bad for the customers when they don’t have insurance or their insanely priced medication isn’t covered and the cash price is $250. I don’t want this to be a political blog, but I don’t understand what’s wrong with everyone having health insurance (and if you don’t want it, you don’t have to have it). Some people can’t afford the prescriptions they need without insurance, but the only insurance they can get is Medicaid or Medicare.

You know me, I care for the well being of us all, I just hope one day I won’t have to hand over another ‘script that costs $2k to a customer and they just give it back. Things don’t have to free here, but affordable would be nice. We all can’t be engineers or doctors, able to cough up a couple hundred for medications (Or anything else).

I’ll just end this here, moral of the story is nobody is going to die with universal healthcare and your pharmacists, pharmacy techs, and cashiers like me will keep you safe and sound (once you get your drugs). XOXO

Facebook likes are fun, but blog comments are better

