Back to VCU & Commuting

Hey guys, how’d you like all those deep posts? Yay for deep thoughts on lost loved ones? Or neigh, “I-followed-your-blog-because-you-promised-posts-on-college-and-cookie-recipes?” Well, either way, I highly value your opinion, but on Facebook I promised something about boys or cake or something like that. So let’s talk about VCU.

It’s a little more than halfway through the semester, and I’m going to reassess VCU/commuting:

1. I love VCU

2. I love my classes

3. I’m trying to get my butt over to Pereguia next summer in Italy so if you need something to do with your extra money, please start a scholarship for Claire Gerloff and Claire Gerloff only so that she may complete her dreams of trying to be Italian.

4. Commuting sucks. I pretty much get to school at 8:30 and leave by 4 or 5 at the latest. Hence, I know no one

5. If I’m not at school a lot, WHY DO I KEEP RUNNING INTO THE SAME PEOPLE? Boys, girls from high school, that one kid in Brandt, and those two or three mildly attractive guys who are everywhere but I don’t know their names. 

6. However, I’m so glad that I commute when it comes to food. I don’t think I would be able to stand eating pizza hut and all those fast food places more than once a week. Plus home = oven = baked goods = boys I make food why don’t you love me yet

7. Also a lot of people think I’m an art student. But unfortunately not, that’s why I get sleep and have a social life. 

8. VCU is very quirky and fun and there are lots of fun people. Go to Monroe Park on a pretty days. There are typically slacklines and hammocks and the occasional Nutella/crepe truck. The art students from Johnson are normally there. 

9. I feel sorry for you if you go anywhere else. I’ll be honest, I toured only one other college but I love the city atmosphere here. Being trapped by the gates of other schools sounds awful. You can’t walk across the block and be in the real world like that. 

10. I have a car and the freedom that comes with that. And a job that pays money. My favorite thing in the world. Fine, maybe I do like commuting. (My bed > ones at VCU dorms) 

So at the end of the day, it is okay to commute, VCU is awesome, and baked goods are always a good thing. In fact, last week, I drove my new VCU best friend Alison over and we had a sleepover at my house and baked bad (watching Breaking Bad and baking brownies). Another perk of commuting!

 

By the way, tomorrow night I’m going to a concert with Sean and his roommates. BOYS. 

 

Facebook likes are fun, but blog comments are better

