October 31 and November 1

All Hallow’s Eve. Aka Halloween.  Even if I don’t have the time to enjoy this holiday like I used to, I still love it deep down inside, and for two reasons:

1. The candy. Because you don’t have to be six to enjoy chocolate and sugar.

2. The creativity of the costumes. I’m blessed to have a crafty momma who made our costumes when James and I were little, and now I’m the one pulling together my own creations.

Image

Last year’s costume as a Roy Lichtenstein comic book character. Only my art teacher and a couple other art history nerds understood. Also, my Gertie loves Maegan and Celeste as Cady Heron and Hurricane Sandy<3 (when are you guys coming back in my life anyway?)

This year, I didn’t really have time to think of or create a great costume, so I went as a fairy just to wear my flower halo (and a lot of my clothes work for that- is that saying something about me?) I had to work anyway, which is okay by me because the pharmacy pays $20 to wear your costume, holds a costume contest with a $100 grand prize and has a potluck (omg there are always potlucks going on there is teaching the right profession or should I switch to pre-pharm?)

I always loved St. Edward’s on Halloween as a student because of the candy/ice cream and the teacher’s dressing up. Even now, four or five years removed, I still come home and ask my momma how all the teachers and staff dressed up each day. (My personal favorite is the new middle school history teacher-who dressed up as The Man in the Yellow Hat and his two year old daughter was Curious George!!) Even at Saint Gertrude, the teachers and students dressing up was always my favorite part. I saw pictures on Facebook and missed the Halloween carnival. Music, prizes, little kids, costumes, taking photos, totally not a real day of school, and candy.

I think not having free candy in class everywhere was the worst part of school today. Yeah, it did feel like Halloween with those random people in full on suits walking by you or the kid in my UNIV 112 who came to class in a full suit and unicorn mask. But really, it’s VCU, everyone here dresses weird all the time so half the people you saw walking around were in their normal clothes. I wanted my professors to pass around bags of candy or skull lollipops. (Jordan and I actually spent half the math class complaining about that and the other half refusing to do our worksheet today). Is this what the real world is like, because if so I quit. I’m just so glad tomorrow is payday (!!!) and November 1st because Halloween candy is going on sale and guess who has a store charge account at the pharmacy?!? (And guess who has to work on the first of the month? Pray for me, please)

Omg yes November is coming tomorrow and I’m so excited. November is pretty much the only fall season I like. There are obvious reasons of birth,  but then there’s Thanksgiving, a day of celebrating obesity in America. After that, school is only in session for one week until it’s exam season. Even though it’s colder in November, I’m always finding more discounted Halloween candy and pre-birthday excitement to keep me warm.

ImageTigger and Pooh send their Halloween love

Facebook likes are fun, but blog comments are better

