Cabin Fever

With a high of 74 yesterday and lots of sunshine, it was like a sign that spring is upon and snow would soon be a thing of the past. I soaked up the gorgeous weather in the passenger seat of my momma’s car on the way home from Greensboro, going over astronomy notes and praying I could put my sweaters away for good. At six am this morning, I woke up to very loud and obnoxious sleet and a VCU alert that school would be closed.

Image

The snow day was great, I needed the time to get caught up and study (gotta love midterm week), but snow days unfortunately mean snow. The harmless flakes look pretty for a couple minutes, until you realize those few minutes have actually been seven hours and now you’re stuck at home and forgot to park at the bottom of the driveway so tomorrow morning’s 11:00 is going to suck. Buford Road closed early so work was cancelled, and I was sincerely confused with what to do with my free time (I need to be honest with you guys, I didn’t do any studying. I spent my morning watching Modern Family, listening to the best Sara Bareilles song ever and painting my nails).

What I wanna know is where is spring?!? It’s March, almost Lent which is always spring don’t you know anything weather gods don’t you talk to Jesus about these kinds of things, it’s the midst of the spring semester, and it’s almost spring break. I want my tank tops, I want my long flowy skirts, I want tie-dye. Where are daffodils?! I don’t think I can handle anymore of this snow. I can’t even wear my VCU beanie anymore, it has bad memories of cold weather with it. My cabin fever is through the roof, man I miss the James River. And let’s not get started on all the days James and my mom have missed (a lot) versus mine (2) during this Snowmaggedon. 

I should stop complaining. You’re probably in the same frustrated boat too. Well can I make it any better? Tomorrow at real IHOPS (not VCU), it’s National Pancake Day and everyone gets a free short stack of pancakes (just leave a donation for charity or else you’re just rude). Yay free food! And even if the weather isn’t going to be perfect, next week is still Spring Break. A whole week where you don’t have to go to classes and you can just sit and home and eat everything. 

Alright, I suppose I should go bake cookies-uhhh I mean get ready for my presentation. This snow day has been fun and all, but it got boring real quick. Four more days, just four more long days….

Facebook likes are fun, but blog comments are better

