My Old Age

“You know what they say about Richmonders,” My mom told me one day when I was in middle school, “they don’t like change.” Well, my mom’s the only person I’ve heard say this so I’m not really sure who “they” are, but it’s definitely a true statement. Richmond (especially me) couldn’t handle losing the Richmond Braves back in 2008, and is struggling hardcore to build a new one now to keep the Flying Squirrels (Apparently we have a thing for old stadiums here. When Parker Field, the predecessor to the Diamond, was being demolished, the field itself was preserved and transferred over to the Diamond for the opening season).

Old Parker Field!

I walked into the newly renovated Bon Air Library just a couple of days ago, obviously not prepared for the right thing because I thought it would look like the exact same, but I was greeted to a new, more open layout. I felt like an old, confused lady, searching where the biographies used to be, where children’s books in Spanish are now, when all I really wanted was a copy of Harry Potter. Twenty minutes later when I went to check out, I cried to librarian about being lost like a five year old who wanders off at Target.

But the weirdest change I’ve had to adapt to hit me when I was driving around a few days ago, and I came to the building where the old Blockbuster used to be, and thought, “what a shame, now kids won’t know the Block Blister skit from the Amanda Show”.

The number one change I can’t adjust to is that I’m getting old. In a few months I’ll hit my 20th birthday, entering into decade number two of existence. It’s strange to imagine that there’s an official generation gap between me and the children I babysit. Sometimes we sit and watch their favorite shows on Nickelodeon and Disney, and I feel almost betrayed by those channels because I don’t even know what these new shows are. They were never mine.

What will kids do today with the helpful advice of Clarissa?

What will kids do today with the helpful advice of Clarissa?

As a late 90’s/early 2000’s baby, I find it hard to fathom a childhood that doesn’t include Baby Bottle Pops candy and Lizzie McGuire. 

It’s weird to think my generation is growing up now- we’re getting degrees, real jobs, and joining the real world. Our childhood- one with by 9/11, sniper attacks, the beginnings of terrorism, is over. Now we live in a world of high security, countless types of social media, and a lot of computers and hipsters. 

The reality of this is that I can’t turn back time, and I need to get my big girl pants on and face growing up like I should. My childhood was great, being a kid in the 90’s was the best decade to enjoy youth in, with all these classic cartoons, toys, and strange candy (seriously, who thought it would be a great idea to make a candy pacifier?), but it’s over now.

Remember taking selfies like this?!?!

Maybe I should take a hint from Silver and Blue’s 2013 Song Contest and appreciate and love the nineties for all their grunge lovin’, Pokemon obsessin’,  Spice Girl listenin’, overall and flannel around the waist wearin’ it had to offer.

100_1004

100_1009

AP English shout out!

It seems like I’m struggling to adjusting to the adult world everyday, but I need to focus my energy on the 2014 world to keep up. And even though things are changing a lot in Richmond, and it’s going to take me three years to get used to the new library, it’s not all bad. I mean, Lee Gregory (2 time James Beard Finalist and co-owner of The Roosevelt) is opening a restaurant in Bon Air. Change can be a good thing. 

 

Facebook likes are fun, but blog comments are better

